top of page

Hong Kong adds US, France to high risk list

Hong Kong is tightening its entrance restrictions.

Hong Kong has tightened its quarantine restrictions in response to surging Delta variant infections in the region.

No fewer than 15 countries are to be escalated to the city’s high risk list from August 20 and Australia moves from Group C (low risk) to Group B (medium risk).

Bangladesh, Cambodia, France, Greece, Iran, Malaysia, Netherlands, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Tanzania, Turkey, United States and United Arab Emirates - currently all in Group B - will be placed in Group A (high risk). Arrivals from these places will be subject to 21 day hotel quarantine. Group A arrivals do not have the option of taking an antibody test to reduce their quarantine to seven days. Arrivals must also be fully vaccinated and must hold a negative PCR test taken within 72 hours of departure. There are exemptions for children aged under 12 years.

These countries join Brazil, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Russia, South Africa and the United Kingdom who have already been classified as high risk.

“The global Covid-19 epidemic situation is under serious threat from the Delta variant,” said a government spokesperson. “Despite large-scale vaccination programmes, many places are experiencing resurgence of the virus, which poses enormous challenges to our local anti-epidemic efforts. After considering a basket of factors, the government has decided to upgrade the risk grouping of 16 overseas places to impose more stringent boarding, quarantine and testing requirements… in order to uphold the local barrier against the importation of Covid-19.”

More information about entrance requirements into Hong Kong can be found online.

Stay up to date with all the breaking travel news for Asia Pacific, Indian Ocean and the Middle East by subscribing to the FREE Asia Family Traveller Newsletter.


bottom of page