top of page

England bans arrivals from all southern African countries

The holiday islands of Seychelles (pictured) and Mauritius have been removed from Britain's safe corridor list.

The United Kingdom will be doubling-down on its efforts to keep the fast spreading South African Covid variant out of the country.

From 4am GMT on Saturday January 9, people who have travelled through any southern African country in the previous ten days will be banned from entering England. Countries affected include Namibia, Zimbabwe, Angola, Eswatini, Zambia, Malawi, Lesotho, Botswana and Mozambique. The ban also extends to the island nations of Mauritius and Seychelles due to the high frequency of travel between these countries and South Africa.

The Seychelles, Mauritius and Botswana will also be removed from the UK list of safe travel corridors.

British and Irish nationals travelling from these areas will be exempt but will have to follow quarantine procedures when they land.

The ban will remain in place initially for two weeks. Flights from the affected areas land primarily in England, but it is expected the new restrictions will be adopted by all UK nations.

The UK government placed a stop on all flights from South Africa on December 24, 2020.

In addition, Israel and Jerusalem have also been removed from England's safe corridor list due to an accelerating increase in Covid cases similar to the trajectory of the UK. This regulation will also come into effect from January 9.

More information can be found on the UK government website online.


bottom of page